You are here

West Carroll Parish

Map of West Carroll ParishDOTD Tourism Mapr of West Carroll ParishIn March 1832, the state legislature created Carroll Parish, which stretched from Morehouse Parish on the west to the Mississippi River on the east.  On March 26, 1877, legislation signed by Louisiana's governor divided Carroll Parish into eastern and western parts divided by Bayou Macon.  The parish was divided because the western portion of the parish, which was a hotbed of Democratic Party activity, was at odds with the pro-Republican eastern half.  Oak Grove was designated the seat of justice in newly created West Carroll Parish.

West Carroll Parish is best known for the Poverty Point national landmark, one of the nation's most important Native American archaeological sites.  Poverty Point is located approximately five miles east of Epps.

by Carl A. Brasseaux


Principle Towns


Oak Grove

West Carroll Parish Tourism Commission

Events and Festivals

Holiday Boutique (Oak Grove)

Sweet Potato Festival (Oak Grove)

Bluegrass Festivals (Oak Grove)

Historic Sites, Plantations & Museums

Fiske Theater (Oak Grove)

Poverty Point World Heritage Site (Pioneer)

National Register of Historic Places

Wildlife Preserves

Big Colewa Bayou Wildlife Management Area


West Carroll Parish Library

West Carroll Parish Courthouses

LSU AgCenter